21
Feb
16

Always and Forever

All

My life,

I’ve told myself

That

Love is permanent-

Possibly capable

Of change,

But unending,

Always

Flowing,

Indestructible.

Love was

Always

The one constant

In my life

That could

Survive

The realities of existence,

The end

Of relationships

And marriages,

The separation

Of bodies.

Like a sunrise

Always

Promised a sunset,

Regardless of what happened

In the hours between,

Love

Had promised

It would always

Be there

For me.

The Pisces dreamer in me believed each breathless whisper, each soft kiss, every touch of bodies in the dark or in the sun, each promise of “always” and “forever”, all the “for better or worse” commitments.

It didn’t matter

How many times

It proved to be untrue,

Because

I believed

In my soft heart

That

I would find it

One day,

Finally

Experiencing the fulfillment

Of all those promises

Made with tangled limbs

And sweaty passion.

The death

Of an ideal,

Is one of the cruelest

Lessons

Of a sensitive soul.

 

Timothy Vance Jackson

February 20, 2016

0 Responses to “Always and Forever”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Blog Stats

  • 6,497 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


