17
Mar
13

Eleven, going on…

She’s only eleven,

She’ll be twelve

In the blink

Of my teary eye.

She’s growing up

Too fast

And too far

Away

From me.

I never knew

Exactly

What unconditional love was

Until she arrived

And let me be

Her father.

Now

I am blessed

To also have her

And her sister

To show me

What it means

To love

And be loved.

Even though

We now have

A state line

Between us,

She will always be

My “punkin”

And my first

Daughter,

Even as she crawls

Into her bed,

In her mother’s house-

Not mine.

In my mind,

I still

Tuck her in

Each night,

And kiss her

Cheek,

Brushing the curls

Off her face.

Sleep well baby girl,

Daddy will see you

In the morning.

 

Timothy Vance Jackson

March 17, 2013

0 Responses to “Eleven, going on…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 6,555 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

