22
Dec
11

the couch

Most nights

Before I fall

Asleep

On the couch,

I wander

To my daughter’s room,

To make sure

Her blanket

Is covering

Her

And that she

Is

Warm enough-

And still

Breathing.

Then,

I carefully

Walk

Into my own room

To make sure

That my wife

And the baby

Are both covered

And both breathing.

Each rise and fall of their chests, a blessing to me, keeping them here with me a little longer.

Then

I shuffle off

To the couch

To rest,

Before

Stumbling sleepily

Back to bed,

And the restless sleep

Of two tiny feet

And hands

Thrashing

In her sleep

And my restlessness.

 

Timothy Vance Jackson

December 22, 2011

0 Responses to “the couch”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 6,455 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


