23
Jan
11

Once again without me

My wife

And infant daughter

Are

Half a world

Away,

In Taiwan

With family.

My older daughter

Is at home

With her mother,

Gliding

Through her daily routine.

And I am,

Once again,

Strapped into my seat,

With my seatbelt

Low and tight

Across my waist

Several thousand feet

Above the ground

And between

Destinations.

Thoughts fly

Between worlds

And worries,

As I settle into

The impermanent

And the transitory.

Soon I’ll be

Shaking hands

And forgetting names

Of people

I’ll never see again,

While the ones filling my thoughts

Go about their day

Once again

Without me.

 

Timothy Vance Jackson

January 19, 2011

0 Responses to “Once again without me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 6,497 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


