24
Nov
09

By now

By now

She’s probably

About 30, 000 feet

Above the earth

And halfway

Between our home together

And her home in Taiwan.

Normally,

I’m the one

Leaving

Home behind and below

As I go

Somewhere.

But this time,

It’s her-

Leaving me to sit

And worry,

And wait for her call,

To tell me that

She has arrived

Safely.

In several more hours

She’ll be sitting with her family-

My new family-

Telling them of us

And our home

And how she misses

Them and there.

Until I hear her voice again

I will sleep only partially

And I will

Toss around

In our bed-

My left leg permanently searching

For her right leg

To touch

With a toe or two.

 

Timothy Vance Jackson

November 24, 2009

0 Responses to “By now”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 6,555 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

