25
Oct
09

I remember

I can remember

Standing over her crib,

Watching her rib cage

Move up and down

With each tiny breath,

Celebrating her life

With each tear

That rolled down my cheeks

And onto her

Soft infant skin.

I can remember

How her tiny fingers

Would curl around the collar of my shirt

As she bounced around,

Strapped to my back,

Murmuring a language

I didn’t yet

Understand.

I can remember

The first days

Of preschool

And how afraid

I was

That she would forget me

As she grew up

With them

And not with me.

I can remember

The first text message

She sent me

From her own phone,

Her mother’s old one,

And how each message since

Has caused

The corners of my mouth

To either curl up

With joy

After reading

“I love you daddy”

Or roll downward

With each

“I miss you daddy”.

Yet

I can not remember

Her being so small

That I held her

Head in my palm

With her feet

Barely reaching

My elbow-

That memory

Seems to have evaporated

Along with her

Tininess.

And yet,

She’s only eight

And has so many more

Memories waiting

For me.

I will remember.

Timothy Vance Jackson

October 25, 2009

2 Responses to “I remember”


  1. 1 TexasConnie
    October 26, 2009 at 3:19 AM

    Good to see you writing again. I enjoyed this, friend.

  2. October 26, 2009 at 8:26 AM

    Thanks Texas Connie (I love that name, by the way)!

    I’m hoping I can find the time to chase inspiration a little more often- all bikes/ tech all the time makes Timmy a dull boy.


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 6,299 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


