22
Aug
09

The words and the searching

It’s been a while

Since

I put the headphones

On

And slipped into

The dark,

Sitting on the steps

Of my apartment

With a cigar

Held tightly

Between my lips

And sipped a scotch

Or glass of port

With a fountain pen

And paper

To write

On.

Squinting

Against the smoke

Blowing

Back into my eyes

As I search

And search

And search for

The ever elusive words to convey the swirling and rushing emotions flying through my mind.

The last

Remaining

Cigars

Of my pathetic

Collection

Are now dry

And cracked,

But are calling

To me-

Asking me to search

Again

For words.

Just for words-

The meanings

Are

Less important

Than the words themselves.

The words

And the act

Of searching

And sitting

In the dark

With smoke

In my eyes-

The words and the searching.

Timothy Vance Jackson

August 22, 2009

0 Responses to “The words and the searching”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 6,298 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


