21
Mar
09

Taichung

Taichung

Buzzes past

On the street below me

In a pace and language

I do not understand.

From the second

Floor

Of this coffee house,

I sink

Into being

A foreigner

In a foreign country,

But less foreign

Than I once was-

I have been

Told

That I am now

Considered to be

Half Chinese

Because

Of my Taiwanese

Girlfriend.

I am now less

Of a foreigner

Than the other

“Westerners”

Walking the streets

With the same

Mystified expressions as mine.

I have been brought in

And made

Welcome

As a part

Of the bustling

And speeding scenery.

The disjointed

And disconnected sounds

Of Chicago blues

Playing softly

In the background

Add to the otherworldly

Feelings

Of being

And not being

A part of this space.

Whether it is the jetlag

Or the brain warp,

I do not know-

But the loud

Mandarin voices

Mixing with the soulful black voices of anguish

Lend another layer

To the surreal sensations

Of this existence.

Timothy Vance Jackson

March 21, 2009

2 Responses to “Taichung”


  1. March 21, 2009 at 3:21 AM

    Thanks for sharing the “surreal sensations.” Felt like I was there.

  2. March 21, 2009 at 3:32 AM

    Thank you my friend. It truly is a weirdly nice feeling. I am a part of it all and yet removed from it and watching from the sidelines. It’s not at all a bad feeling- just an odd one. I love wandering the streets here and just exploring the differentness of it all.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 6,635 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

