26
Jan
09

In the morning

Tucked in

Underneath her blanket,

My seven year old daughter

Sleeps-

With grunts and snorts

And the sound

Of grinding teeth.

It seems so unlikely

That she should

Be able

To sleep

With all that

Motion and sound,

But she does.

She sleeps that sleep

That only

A child can

Ever know-

That sleep

Of dreams

And far away places,

Of fictional

Fears.

Each night

Before I tuck myself

Into my own bed,

I go into

Her room

And kiss her

Cheek or forehead,

Brush her hair

Out of her mouth

And pull the blanket

Back up

To her chin.

Then I climb

Into my bed

And pray

That she will sleep peacefully

And wake

To kiss my cheek

In the morning.

Timothy Vance Jackson

January 25, 2009

0 Responses to “In the morning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 6,504 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


