14
Dec
08

Breakable

There was a

Time

When I once

Thought of myself

As something just shy

Of unbreakable.

Not quite

Invincible,

Nor indestructible,

But

Somehow able to

Remain unbroken.

That belief was

Shattered

With a few bones

This year.

I’ve been interrupted

By healing

And recovery.

For a few months

I was unable

To pick up and hold my daughter in my arms.

At night

I had nightmares

Of falling

And becoming unconscious

With my daughter

Panicking

As she tries

To get help-

Images of her crying

Forcing me awake.

No longer

Unbreakable,

I am thankful

To be alive,

But uneasy from this new knowledge

Of how

Breakable

I am.

Timothy Vance Jackson

12/13/2008

0 Responses to “Breakable”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 6,635 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

