17
Nov
08

Daddy’s Girl

Sometimes

When I sit

Still

Long enough

To listen

To all the voices

In my head,

I often find

My mind

Wandering off

To places

I don’t want to go.

The doubts,

The fears,

The worries-

They always

Find me.

Am I

Doing enough?

Am I

A good enough

Father?

Am I

A good enough

Man?

Will I

Ever grow up?

Will I

Ever find

My way,

My voice,

My path,

My world?

My daughter sleeps

While the thoughts

And doubts

And fears

Attempt

To devour me

And the little

Sprouts

Of progress

And growth

And security

In my Self.

But I know

That she loves me

For who I

Am

And not

Who I might be

Under better circumstances.

She will

Wake up

In the morning

And kiss me

And tell me

That

She loves me-

Unaware

Of my fears

And doubts

And worries.

I’ll go to bed

With my stomach

Knotted

And my mind

Spinning,

But a few feet away through a crappy apartment wall, she will sleep peacefully and without worry at all.

I will try

To remember

That

As I grind

My teeth

Again-

Dreaming for morning

And her kiss.

Timothy Vance Jackson

11/16/2008

0 Responses to “Daddy’s Girl”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 6,298 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


