04
Sep
08

untitled

I can

Remember

When she

Was

So small

She could fit

In the palm

Of my hand,

With her feet

Barely

Reaching my elbow.

So small

That her head

Was smaller than

My hand.

I can remember

Smoking

That Cuban Partagas

Cigar

That I had

Aged perfectly

Waiting

For the day

She would arrive.

I remember

The tears that ran down my face that morning as her arrival finally sank in.

Each

Tear,

A small tribute

To her miracle.

And now she sits

At her desk

As a seven year old

In second grade.

A new teacher

To become her

New favorite person.

New stories

And new skinned knees.

Soon

My world

Will once again be full

Of new pictures

And drawings

And notes to Daddy

Or Dady

Or dadddy.

And I’ll get closer

To new tears.

Timothy Vance Jackson

09/03/08

1 Response to “untitled”


  1. September 5, 2008 at 1:59 PM

    This is wonderful. I love your writing here. Good for you for starting this!


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 6,299 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


