16
Aug
08

unfinished bits

Several thousand feet

Below

And many miles

Behind,

A woman

Sleeps

Alone in her bed

While I

Yearn

To occupy

That space

In her

Bed

And in her

Life.

As the miles

Stretch out

Behind and below,

The desire

Grows

And the sweet melancholy

Increases.

I will

Dream

Of her

As I sleep

And will

Think

Of her

While awake.

Such delicate

And sweet

Longing

Is a gift

That I cherish

As much

As each

Memory

Of each

Touch.

Such joy

From such sadness

Leaves my heart

Sailing.

****

I know

I’ll be dreaming

Of her

Again.

Her slender

Tiny neck,

Her long

Black hair,

How her eyes

Shine

From behind her glasses

And the way

Her upper lip

Curls

To show her teeth

When she smiles.

Her dark eyes

Sparkle

With amazing depth

And intensity

When we speak-

Her eyes

Locked to mine.

When my

Mind

Drifts into sleep,

I know I will

Dream

Of her

Hands

Holding mine,

Or possibly

Just holding

Her

In my arms

And smelling

Her hair.

I know

She will

Occupy

My thoughts

Each time

My mind

Wanders

Away

From me.

Her spell

Has been cast

And I am

Her willing victim,

Her happy slave,

The one

Who will

Hold her

In their every spare thought.

****

Just as I

Thought,

I dreamed

Of her

Again.

Sweetly,

My thoughts

Were

Of her

And myself

Embracing

And sharing

Life.

Sweetly.

Innocently.

Beautifully.

She has

Taken over

My thoughts,

Both waking

And asleep.

Such sweetness

And gentleness

Can do nothing

But become

Unstoppable.

I have been

Devoured

By her.

Happily.

Timothy Vance Jackson

(While flying from Taiwan to California.)

1 Response to “unfinished bits”


  1. 1 Donna Tocci
    August 16, 2008 at 5:07 PM

    Simply beautiful.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 6,299 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


