16
Aug
08

For my daughter on a Saturday morning.

Her dark eyes

Sparkle and glisten-

Fixed upon

The TV.

Her lips

Are perfectly

Shaped

For such a

Young

Girl.

Her skin is like

Silk

And tanned by Summer’s

Sun

And endless smiles.

The most

Incredible child

And

She’s mine.

I don’t

Know

Why

I am

So blessed to have her

In my life.

The divorce

That

Has created a single father with a beautiful young daughter

Who smiles

Endlessly

Through it all-

Much more so

Than I.

There will

Never

Be

Quite the same feeling

In my life

As knowing

That her blood

And mine

Are the same.

She’ll exceed me in every conceivable way, one day

And I will

Beam with pride

And

A touch of guilt,

Wondering if I

Could

Have

Done more

To inspire her

To even greater greatness.

For now,

With college years away,

It’s the eyes

That do

The most damage

To me

And

Give me the greatest hope.

Timothy Vance Jackson

08/16/08

1 Response to “For my daughter on a Saturday morning.”


  1. 1 Donna Tocci
    August 16, 2008 at 8:45 PM

    That will make her cry, in a good way, one day. Lovely.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 6,501 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Posts


